Semeru Part 2 : Drought in Paradise

I was cursing Tanjakan Cinta for the pain that it put me through.

But once I came about to the top, I couldn’t help but to exhale a sigh of appreciation and thankfulness. The view is worth it. Oh, it is so worth it.

In front of me was about 20 hectares of wild verbena (Verbana Brasilinesis Vell), the beauty that often is mistaken for lavender.

A perfect place to lose yourself, a floral oasis in the middle of rolling hills and gentle slopes of greenery.

Blending in perfectly

It was a summer time and the flowers have done blooming and almost dried up due to persisting hot weather. They still have the tinge of purple color that become more pronounced under the afternoon light. But there is more to it than meets the eyes; I have learnt that there is a dark side to beauty.

Basically it goes like this: Not a native plant. Originally from Latin America. Most probably brought to the area by a Dutch botanist in the pre-independence years. A diva. Highly demanding: draining waters and nutrients from surrounding vegetation, while outgrowing the native tall grass of the Oro Oro Ombo savannah.

Sort of like that Despacito song taking the world by storm and you can’t resist it. Despite it saps your energy to sing it (especially that Daddy Yankee part), you can’t help yourself to be bedazzled.

The bedazzling view from DJI Spark

However…..

It is a dream come true. Years ago when I saw a picture of this savannah of Semeru, I vowed to hike to this paradise someday. Granted, in between, I took a detour to Southern France for a sojourn in the middle of vast lavender field, I still have this image in the back of my mind. And I have the rizq and health to realize it.

Till I see you again, Oro Oro Ombo

Danke sehr.

Gracias a Dios.

Alhamdulillah.

p/s: on a-not-so-important note, I think El Patito the parody of Despacito by Sesame Street is so cute!

Leave a comment