Great wanderlust books to inspire your next travel : The Adventures of Tintin

People asked what inspired me to take on solo adventures and to set off on a trip without, well, so much apprehension. It began, first by feeding my young mind with the stories from near and far. I owe this first step of wanderlust to my dear parents who invested a lot in me, and still today, have faith in me. For that, I forever grateful to my parents ❤️

The first thing that they did was providing me with unlimited access to books and comics. These had nurtured my curiosity and imagination above all things.

The mind always travels first.< ><

The Adventures of Tintin series is one of the earliest English (translated from French) comics that I read. At the tender age of 5 or 6, of course I couldn’t comprehend all words. But the drawings and the ingenuity of Hergé manage to convey the whole new world of adventures, mischief, bravery and exotic cultures to me. Not a typical travel literature, but I believe I wasn’t the only kid who was awed by Tintin.

Through Tin Tin’s adventure as a young reporter and his companion Snowy, myself transported to a faraway land like Peru. It was a gradual awakening, as a young girl discovered there are more things beyond the concrete jungle of Kuala Lumpur, different people than just Malay, Indian and Chinese and fun stuff rather than just sets of LEGO and playing hide and seek.

Thomson and Thompson are just…. 🤣

Comic relief by Captain Haddock and these duo detective is always welcome. Nonetheless, the idea of young Tin Tin bravely stands up to antagonists has been impressed upon me as a kid. Like any other well-meaning endeavor, there will be stones and sticks thrown in his paths, bad guys (who, for most of the time just want to look after their wealth, reputation, sketchy business etc) trying to kill him but with sheer luck (and karma) he persisted and survived to go to another place!

I learnt about cursing “politely”. Some of favorites: “suffering samurai” and “logarithm!!!”

Don’t discount your child’s mischief. It might be the saving grace to a villain who tries to kill himself

If you want to inspire your children to take on the world and move mountains (and fight for justice), introduce them to Tin Tin. And I mean , really, let them read the hard-copy comics. Who knows, may our lackluster life, saddled with bills and perpetual “adulting” won’t passed on to our children and they will embark on adventures that warrant a heck of autobiography. Or are YOU, yourself, Tin Tin in the making?

Till next time! To be continued with another great wanderlust book

Leave a comment